Oyster Point Rotary History

The Rotary Club of Oyster Point was chartered on January 24, 1984 with 20 members. Alan Witt was the first president.  The second and third presidents were Tom Brooks and Nick Vlattas who are still members today.  Find a complete list of club presidents here.

Paul Harris Fellow recognition is awarded to members to have donated $1,000 or more in lifetime donations to The Rotary Foundation.  A Paul Harris Fellow may also be awarded as an honor.  The Club's first Paul Harris Fellow was awarded to Harry Doggette for his contributions to founding the club.  Since then, over 100 past and current members have become Paul Harris Fellows

On July 22, 1998 the Club founded the Oyster Point Rotary Foundation, a registered 501c3, to assist with funding charitable projects. 

The Club's first signature fundraiser, chaired by Michael Link, was an annual golf tournament for local Boys Scouts.  The Club continues to host an annual golf tournament, now in partnership with Christol House.

In honor of past president Howard Manly, deceased, the Club sponsors a scholarship to an individual selected by New Horizons.

For over a decade, the Club has organized Bikes for Tikes.  The Club builds approximately 100 bicycles to distributed to local children as holiday presents.  Recipients are selected by the YMCA and other partnering organizations.  

In 2013, chaired by Ed Maroney, the Club launched its current signature fundraiser: the Oyster Bash.  In 2014, the Club named Smart Beginnings Virginia Peninsula the primary beneficiary.  

In 2019, the Club initiated the Community Citizen Award.  The first recipient was Newport News Shipbuilding.


Club Leaders
Weekly Bulletin
Club Events